Chap Manifesto: Revolutionary Etiquette for the Modern Gentleman

Represented by:
Susan Smith

Category:
Non-fiction

Publisher:
Fourth Estate

Publication date:
October 2001

Foreign rights controlled by:
Fourth Estate

Including a celebration of the epitomes of the chap – from Montesquiou to Terry-Thomas – and revealing the the subtle nuances of a gentleman’s semiotics of smoking and trouser semaphore, this book is a rallying point for the classic bloke beleaguered in postmodern confusion, a “cri de coeur” from the manly bosom, a hail-well-met to gentlemen of all pinstripes. Being a gentleman is not just about motoring, smoking and gambling, but it’s important to master those basics before moving on to consumptive cosmetics and enemas for pleasure. Topped off by the full range of implements required by the anarcho-dandy tool kit, the book – racily illustrated throughout – even contains a little something for the ladies. In the tradition of Mao’s “Red Book”, Marx’s “Manifesto for the Communist Party”, the book is a rallying cry: Gentlemen of the world unite – you have exquisite manners to maintain!